US State department legalization service

Discussions specifically related to distance education.

US State department legalization service

Postby Intstudent » Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:38 am

I am an international student applying for master programs in business studies. i have seen distance learning universities that state that their degrees can be legalized/verified by the US state department. in fact there is a separate fee for US state department legalization service which is offered by the university. i would like to know what US state department legalization/verification means.

many thanks,

Intstudent
Intstudent

Re: US State department legalization service

Postby Eric » Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:15 am

In some countries this service is needed to confirm that your diploma is not a fake.

This service can be abused and is abused by diploma mills who some how confuse their victims that this serves as something that means you got real degree. this is not the case.

It only states that your document and the copies you have made apostles are matching the original.
So validated Diploma Mill degree is just that diploma mill degree.
But this is also a very important service for international students who get real accredited recognized degree. In their home country there maybe be requirement for Apostle degree.

According to the Hague Convention held on October 5th, 1961, diplomas, certificates and transcripts issued by universities in one country can be officially legalised in other countries if they are accompanied by a notarial certification.
The Apostille, which authenticates the signatures and stamps appearing on the document is becoming Increasingly popular. Countries around the world are adopting this validation procedure for its simplicity and worldwide acceptance.