Universidad Empresarial de Costa Rica

Discussions on the value or merit of unaccredited programs and institutions.

Postby Roberto Hernandez » Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:44 pm

[John Bear, author of popular distance learning guides, asked me to share this information with you. I had posted it on another distance learning discussion board.]

I happened on this site by a Google search, and read the entries regarding Universidad Empresarial de Costa Rica. Some of the entries are true, and some are not, as is much of the material about Empresarial on the Internet.

I graduated from Empresarial with a doctorate more than 10 years ago. At the time I enrolled, the programs for international students were in the International Postgraduate School of the University of San Jose (Costa Rica). That university declined to pursue further the concept of an International Postgraduate School. Those investors who did want to pursue the concept founded what became Universidad Empresarial de Costa Rica.

Empresarial's 1997 founding charter from the Costa Rican Ministry of Education broadly authorizes the university to grant academic degrees through the doctorate, but "authorizes" does not mean "approves." Under Costa Rican procedures, each degree in each discipline in a private university, like Empresarial, must be specifically approved by the Ministry to be valid for use within the country.

The Ministry has approved Empresarial, from its founding, to award bachelor's degrees in business administration and accounting and a master's degree in business administration. Many Costa Ricans have graduated from these residential programs. At my graduation ceremony, an undergraduate student received a full scholarship.